ISO 13485:2016 certification

About ISO 9001:2015

ISO 9001:2015 is the upcoming major revision to ISO 9001:2008. ISO 9001:2015, the world's most popular quality management standards is being revised, with the current Draft International Standard (DIS) now available for purchase and review. This is a key milestone in its revision process.

Like all ISO standards, ISO 9001 is reviewed every five years to ensure it is relevant and up-to-date. At the DIS stage all interested parties and organizations can submit feedback that will be considered before the final draft (FDIS) is published by the end of 2015.

The main changes in ISO 9001 relate to its format and the increased importance on risk .

They include:

-same high-level structure used by other management system standards will help companies implementing more than one standard,

-identification of risk and risk control as specific requirements in the standard,

-requirement of management to take a more active role in aligning quality policies with business needs,

-and changes in terminology.

Organizations certified to the current standard, ISO 9001:2008 will be given a three-year transition period after ISO 9001:2015 is published to migrate to the new edition of the standard.

SAE Logo